Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured Vladimir Putin Mohamed Ali Harrath Britains embattled OneRepublic and Leony release My Game series


The Square wins Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival

The film -- an art-world satire which centers on a museum curator -- stars Claes Bang, Dominic West and Elisabeth Moss. In 2014, the 43-year-old director also won Un Certain Regard’s prize at Cannes for his drama Force Majeure. Presided by Spanish auteur Pedro Almodovar, the Cannes jury awarded the best director prize to American director Sofia Coppola for her drama “The Beguiled”. German-American Diane Kruger won the best actress award for her role in Turkish-German director Fatih Akin’s film In the Fade, a thriller set within Turkish community in Germany. A surprise prize -- the Special 70th Cannes Festival anniversary -- was awarded to the Australian-American actress Nicole Kidman, who featured in four movies in competition this year. The 2017 Cannes International Film Festival ran from May 17 to 28 in Cannes, France. The festival included 49 films from 29 countries, according to the festival website.

Last year, British director Ken Loach won the Palme d’Or for the movie I, Daniel Blake. In 2014, it was won by Turkish director Nuri Bilge Ceylan for his movie Winter Sleep. Winners from the closing night ceremony of the 70th Cannes film festival: Palme d’Or: The Square 70th Anniversary Award: Nicole Kidman Grand Prix: Beats Per Minute by Robin Campillo Best Director: Sofia Coppola (The Beguiled) Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here Best Actress: Diane Kruger, In the Fade Jury prize: Andrey Zvyagintsev, Loveless Caméra d’Or (best first feature): Jeune Femme (director: Leonor Serraille) Best Screenplay: Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou “The Killing of a Sacred Deer” and Lynne Ramsay “You Were Never Really Here”

Your Name
Post a Comment
Characters Left:
Your comment has been forwarded to the administrator for approval.×
Warning! Will constitute a criminal offense, illegal, threatening, offensive, insulting and swearing, derogatory, defamatory, vulgar, pornographic, indecent, personality rights, damaging or similar nature in the nature of all kinds of financial content, legal, criminal and administrative responsibility for the content of the sender member / members are belong.