Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured Meridian Water Çatalhöyük exhibition Trafalgar Square iftar London elections Enfield Council


The outstanding achievements of Enfield’s young athletes

The event at Dugdale Arts Centre was attended by Mayor of Enfield Suna Hurman, Enfield Council’s Cabinet Member for Culture, Open Spaces and Local Economy, Cllr Chinelo Anyanwu, and Commonwealth champion Tony Jarrett who was born in the borough. The award ceremony, hosted by the Council’s Active Enfield team, was an opportunity to celebrate and thank the young athletes who came away with 20 gold medals, nine silver, and 30 bronze in the 2022/23 Youth Games. It is hoped that more young people will come forward for this season of sport  having been inspired by last year’s medal winners.

Cllr Anyanwu said: “It was a real privilege to meet the young people who competed at the London Youth Games and to listen to their remarkable stories of achievement. Enfield is investing in sport, making opportunities more accessible to people from all backgrounds and all abilities. We have parks’ tennis courts being refurbished across the borough, a fantastic football programme in Edmonton, a new provider for our leisure centres by the end of the year and a fantastic programme of activities administered by Active Enfield. Congratulations to our athletes and I look forward to another exciting year of competitive sport.”Cllr Anyanwu shared the stage with Tony Jarrett who won gold at the Commonwealth Games in 1990 and 1998 as well as other accolades. His speech inspired the crowd as he shared his personal journey, emphasizing the importance of hard work and determination.In addition, 17-year-old Enfield resident Amarlie Wilkinson made a speech about his commitment to basketball and appointment as the Captain of the Enfield London Youth Games Basketball team. He spoke of  his historic achievement of securing the first UK championship gold medal with his team in 2023.

The London Youth Games uses the power of competitive sport to create life-changing opportunities for all young Londoners. To get involved in  the 2023/24 season, email [email protected] for more information.

The award ceremony at DAC took place on 26 September 2023.

The award winners at the celebration event were:


Amarlie Wilkinson

Feolami Onabote

Jayden John

Ocean Brobbey

Hakim Linton

Evandro Bequessa

Malachi Francis

Kervy Mabaya

Henry Lim

Malachi Payne

Kyran Palmer


Liam Austick

Max Kercher

Godfrey Obeng

Lewis Dawson

Ethan Morgan

Jaiden Thomas

Ethan Baxter

Zdravko Tatanov

Dylan Hanks

Malakai Morgan

Rayan Awan

Leo Kercher

Davi Gill

Christian Komatarov

Ivan Tanev

Luca Teodorescu


Gregory Svoboda

Oscar Squier

Keiran Piper

Iris West

Charlotte Smith

Michael Svoboda

Felix Saly

Henry Wakeford

Sabina Paktian

Eloise West

Hannah Christou

Malakhai O'Connor Peart

Olivia-Jo Francis

Holly Christou


Nikola Bunchev

Michael Awiti-Alcaraz

Egor Volodko


Jayvannie Brown

Sarah Amuwa

Jorjia March

Rafaella Antoniou

Phiona Nanono

Kalim Pinder

Octavio Huczko

Your Name
Post a Comment
Characters Left:
Your comment has been forwarded to the administrator for approval.×
Warning! Will constitute a criminal offense, illegal, threatening, offensive, insulting and swearing, derogatory, defamatory, vulgar, pornographic, indecent, personality rights, damaging or similar nature in the nature of all kinds of financial content, legal, criminal and administrative responsibility for the content of the sender member / members are belong.