Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured Yunus Emre Institute Cockfosters Cricket Club The lettings market Mehmet Karakuş Russian President Vladimir Putin


Karabukspor knock Rosenborg out of Europa League

European newcomers Kardemir Karabukspor of Turkey knocked their Norwegian opponents Rosenborg out of the UEFA Europa League after earning an aggregate 1-1 draw in Trondheim the third qualifying round, second leg. Karabukspor qualified for the playoff round of the tournament on Thursday night. In the seventh minute home side Rosenborg took the lead when 24-year-old winger Pal Andre Helland, assisted by Jorgen Skjelvik, put the ball in the back of the Karabukspor net. Kardemir Karabukspor scored the equalizer in 34th minute when Austrian full back Tanju Kayhan crossed the ball in the box, Domi Kumbela's header rattled the post and Turkish-French midfielder Hakan Ozmert tapped the loose ball into the net, to make 1-1. In the second half Rosenborg created several chances but Helland wasted them in the 52nd and 63rd minutes. In stoppage time Kardemir Karabukspor winger Ahmet Ilhan Ozek's shot shaved the post and the game ended 1-1. At the final whistle Kardemir Karabukspor, who are playing in a European challenge for the first time in their history, won on away goals as first leg played in Karabuk last week ended in a goalless draw.

Other results of the night are as follows:

Hajduk Split (Croatia) - Shakhter (Kazakhstan): 3-0 

AIK (Sweden) - Astana (Kazakhstan): 0-3 

Chikhura Sachkhere (Georgia) - Neftci (Azerbaijan): 2-3 

FH Hafnarfjordur (Iceland) - Elfsborg (Sweden): 2-1 

Liberec (Czech Republic) - Astra (Romania): 2-3 

Esbjerg (Denmark) - Ruch (Poland): 2-2 

Hapoel Kiryat Shmona (Israel) - Dinamo Moscow (Russia): 1-2 

Metalurg Skopje (Macedonia) - Omonia (Greek Cypriot adm.): 0-1 

Torino (Italy) - Brommapojkarna (Sweden): 4-0 

St Polten (Austria) - PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands): 2-3 

Rosenborg (Norway) - Kardemir Karabukspor (Turkey): 1-1 

Olympique Lyon (France) - Mlada Boleslav (Czech Republic): 2-1 

Hull City (England) - Trencin (Slovakia): 2-1 

Rio Ave (Portugal) - Goteborg (Sweden): 0-0 

CFR Cluj (Romania) - Dinamo Minsk (Belarus): 0-2 

Molde (Norway) - Zurya (Ukraine): 1-2 

Ermis (Greek Cypriot adm.) - Young Boys (Switzerland): 0-2 

Viktroia Plzen (Czech Republic) - Petrolul (Romania): 1-4 

Rijeka (Croatia) - Vikingur (Faroe Islands): 4-0 

Shakhtyor (Belarus) - Zulte Waregem (Belgium): 2-2 

Chornomorets Odesa (Ukraine) - RNK Split (Croatia): 0-0 

Lech Poznan (Poland) - Stjarnan (Iceland): 0-0 

Asteras (Greece) - Mainz (Germany): 3-1 

Krasnodar (Russia) - Diosgyori (Hungary): 3-0 

Brondby (Denmark) - Club Brugge (Belgium): 0-2 

Atromitos (Greece) - Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina): 1-3 (after extra time)

Aberdeen (Scotland) - Real Sociedad (Spain): 2-3 

Spartak Trnava (Slovakia) - Saint Johnstone (Scotland): 1-1 

Zimbru (Moldova) - Grodig (Austria): 0-1 

Young Boys, Krasnodar, Zurya, RNK Split, Ruch, Astra, Shakhtyor, Stjarnan, Kardemir Karabukspor, PSV Eindhoven, Dinamo Moscow, Neftci, Astana, Dinamo Minsk, Spartak Trnava, Hajduk Split, Club Brugge, Petrolul, Asteras, Sarajevo, Hull City, Elfsborg, Torino, Olympique Lyon, Real Sociedad, Omonia, Rio Ave, Zimbru ve Rijeka have advanced to the playoff stages.

Europa League playoff draw will take place in the Swiss city of Nyon on Friday from 13:00CET.

Your Name
Post a Comment
Characters Left:
Your comment has been forwarded to the administrator for approval.×
Warning! Will constitute a criminal offense, illegal, threatening, offensive, insulting and swearing, derogatory, defamatory, vulgar, pornographic, indecent, personality rights, damaging or similar nature in the nature of all kinds of financial content, legal, criminal and administrative responsibility for the content of the sender member / members are belong.