Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured UK diversity pledge summer season Russia Cllr Nesil Caliskan


Erdogan longest-term premier of multi-party period in Turkey

Menderes uninterruptedly held the prime ministry seat for 10 years and five days. Erdogan, who entered Parliament on November 3, 2002, took over the prime ministry seat from Abdullah Gul by setting up the 59th government on March 14, 2003. Justice & Development (AK) Party, which was established under the leadership of Erdogan, became the ruling party 14 months after it was established by receiving 34 percent of votes. AK Party increased its votes to 47 percent on July 22, 2007, and reached 50 percent votes on June 12, 2011 elections, breaking another record held by Adnan Menderes by winning three elections consecutively. Votes of Democrat Party, led by Adnan Menderes, dropped in the third elections but the party remained on rule, while AK Party increased its votes from 47 percent to 50 percent in the third elections and kept its leadership. As of March 19, 2013, Erdogan broke the record of Menderes who kept prime ministry office continuously between May 22, 1950 and May 27, 1960.

Your Name
Post a Comment
Characters Left:
Your comment has been forwarded to the administrator for approval.×
Warning! Will constitute a criminal offense, illegal, threatening, offensive, insulting and swearing, derogatory, defamatory, vulgar, pornographic, indecent, personality rights, damaging or similar nature in the nature of all kinds of financial content, legal, criminal and administrative responsibility for the content of the sender member / members are belong.